Note: all details below were current prior to the cancellation of IE2023.

Interactive Entertainment is Australasia's longest running games and digital entertainment conference. In 2023, IE has the honor of being co-located OzCHI at Victoria University of Wellington.  

Accepted papers at IE2023 will be published in the ACM International Conference Proceedings Series (ICPS).



Interactive Entertainment has a long history of being a diverse conference that bring together a broad audience of researchers and academics. The conference encourages and pursues deep collaboration and the strength of past events has always been the depth of conversation between people from diverse disciplines. We encourage contributions from fields as diverse as computer science, social science, design, communication, media studies, music, engineering, health and mathematics. Anyone interested in the myriad of technologies and approaches that make up interactive entertainment are encouraged to come along and share your discipline's perspective on interactive entertainment.  
Game design theory and practices Games history and culture Interaction design
Dynamic difficulty adjustment Game engine technology Computer graphics
Player Experience Sound design Virtual agents
Transmedia User interface design Serious games and gamification
Exergaming Project management Virtual/augmented reality
Experimental game design Interactive film Interactive simulation
Real-time animation Pervasive games Government policy
Procedural content generation Narrative analysis Data analytics in games
Sociocultural aspects of videogames Edugames Games research topics not listed here


Conference:  6 December 2023
Submissions: 23:59, 25 August 2023 (AoE)
Notifications: 7 October 2023
Final Submissions: 23:59, 5 November 2023 (AoE)


Interactive Entertainment is a peer reviewed academic conference. All submissions must be original work, not previously published elsewhere, and not currently submitted to any other conference or journal.

Submission of a paper should be regarded as an undertaking such that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will attend the conference to present the work.



All submissions are required to use the ACM Standard Proceedings format and conform to the ACM formatting guidelines linked below.
  ACM Workflow and Templates. Submissions should be in a single column format. If you are using Latex / Overleaf, it is recommended that you use the following command along with the ACM class files:   \documentclass[manuscript, review, anonymous]{acmart}



Interactive Entertainment reviews are conducted as a double-blind process. Please Remove author names, and any additional information in the paper that could be used to identify the paper authors.


Single Column Page Limits

Full Papers - 18 pages, plus references.  
Short Papers - 8 pages, plus references.


Submit Your Paper Here

Keynote Speakers

Floyd Mueller

Florian’ Floyd’ Mueller is a human-computer interaction (HCI), interaction design, computer science, play and games researcher and educator. He is the director of the award-winning Exertion Games Lab and full Professor of Future Interfaces at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. The Exertion Games Lab investigates the design of exertion interfaces and games, inventing the future of bodily play while researching the intersection of technology, the human body and play more broadly. Floyd’s research is situated within an interaction design agenda that supports people’s values, such as active life.  

Anders Drachen

Anders Drachen is a Professor at the Department of Computer Science, University of York. He is the former co-director of the Digital Creativity Labs (, a UK Digital Economy Hub and World Centre for Excellence, which connects 100+ partners in delivering impact-driven research in games, interactive media and the rich space in which they converge. He also Leads Industry Liaison of the Intelligent Games and Game Intelligence Centre for Doctoral Training ( He is the Head of Analytics of the UKRI Audience of the Future Demonstrator Weavr (, building new data-driven audience experiences across esports and sports. He is also the co-director and co-founder of the Arena Research Cluster (, an international research network focused on innovation in esports and sports. He is a multiple entrepreneur.


Allan Fowler
Allan Fowler

University of Auckland

Conference Chair

    Penny Kyburz
    Penny Kyburz

    Australian National University

    Conference Chair

      Michael Hitchens
      Michael Hitchens

      Macquarie University

      Program Chair

        Simon Demediuk
        Simon Demediuk

        University of York

        Proceedings Chair

          William Raffe
          William Raffe

          University of Technology Sydney

          Web Chair

            Program Comittee

            All paper & demo submissions will be blind peer reviewed by at least three members of the international program committee below.
            Anders DrachenAndrew EnsorAndrew Brown
            Burkhard WuenscheDale PattersonDaniel Cermak-Sassenrath
            Daniel Della-BoscaDeborah RichardsDeean Utian
            Dulakshi WannigamageGudrun FrommherzJaime Garcia
            Jose ZagalKaren BlackmoreKeith Nesbitt
            Lauren FerroMalcolm RyanMarco Tamassia
            Martin MasekMatt BrayMichael Hitchens
            Paul Salvador InventadoRobert RossShamus Smith
            Simon DemediukStefan GreuterTomas Trescak
            William RaffeYusuf Pisan